Punch Out Of Prison Permanent Upgrades: The Gym, Cash, and Gems Explained
A practical look at Punch Out Of Prison permanent upgrades: how THE GYM works, what crusher cash and gems buy, and what's still unconfirmed.
Why Punch Out Of Prison Permanent Upgrades Are Easy to Miss
Most players spend their first hour in Punch Out Of Prison doing the same thing: punching cubes, hauling rubble, and dumping it at the crusher for cash. That cash buys the upgrades you actually feel early on — harder punches, bigger holes, a bigger backpack, helpers. But those purchases sit in the session shop, and they are not the same thing as Punch Out Of Prison permanent upgrades.
The permanent track is THE GYM, which the game's own listing explicitly describes as permanent. For reference only, that wording does not establish whether crusher-funded shop upgrades reset or persist between matches. This guide covers what the available documentation confirms and flags that persistence question instead of guessing.
What Punch Out Of Prison Permanent Upgrades Actually Are
Strip away the codes and the Halloween cosmetics and the structure is simple. The official Punch Out Of Prison Roblox listing explains the loop like this: break prison walls cube by cube in first person using 13 hole shapes, sell the rubble at the crusher, then spend the cash on better punches, bigger holes, a bigger backpack, and helpers. Escaping earns Gems, which pay for gloves, hit effects, classes, and emotes.
THE GYM sits outside that loop and is explicitly described as permanent. For reference only, the official listing does not say whether crusher-funded shop purchases reset or persist between matches, so the two layers should not be contrasted with an unverified reset rule.
Important caveat: the same documentation marks Gym prices and Gym projects as TBA. No public source in this research names the individual stat tracks, the currency the Gym takes, or the cost of any tier. Treat any video or post that gives exact Gym numbers with suspicion unless it shows the in-game menu.
Cash, Gems, and Gym Progress: Three Separate Tracks
New players lose the most time by assuming every currency feeds the same upgrades. It doesn't. Here's how the three tracks break down, based on the listing loop and the wiki's summary.
| Track | Where it comes from | What it pays for |
|---|---|---|
| Cash | Selling rubble at the crusher | Session shop: harder punches, bigger holes, bigger backpack, helpers |
| Gems | Rewards per escape, plus the RELEASE code | Gloves, hit effects, classes, emotes |
| Gym progress | Training at THE GYM; for reference only, unlock timing is not stated in the official listing | Permanent upgrades (prices and stat tracks unconfirmed) |
Two mistakes follow from that table. First, players hoard Gems expecting to buy the documented crusher punch-power upgrade — Gems instead unlock gloves, hit effects, classes, and emotes. For reference only, glove-specific wall-breaking effects are not fully documented. Second, players assume a big crusher haul automatically converts into permanent progress. It doesn't; the crusher is the cash step, and the wiki is explicit that it is not the Gym.
Session Shop vs. Punch Out Of Prison Permanent Upgrades
It helps to think of the two layers as different time horizons.
- Core shop (cash): harder punches, bigger holes, a bigger backpack, and helpers. For reference only, their cross-match persistence is not stated in the official listing.
- THE GYM (permanent): training-based upgrades the listing describes as permanent and the wiki keeps separate from the shop. Effects and prices are still undocumented.
Community reports describe the Gym as a later-priority system, but for reference only the official listing does not publish a Gym unlock requirement. Chapter 1 is confirmed to unlock Chapter 2 — The Yard; do not extend that gate to the Gym without in-game evidence.
A Step-by-Step Route to Your First Gym Visit
If your goal is to start banking Punch Out Of Prison permanent upgrades, follow this order; for reference only, the official listing does not state whether crusher-shop purchases reset between runs.
- Confirm you're in the right experience. The game is Place ID 87263150662976 by zenixiope. Punch Out Of Prison is not Punch Walls to Escape, Punch to Escape!, or the NES boxing game Punch-Out!!, and the wiki explicitly separates them.
- Redeem the code before you punch anything. Type
RELEASEinto the in-game Codes / Gift / Shop box and hit Redeem. The listing only confirms "free gems" — the amount is unverified, so check your HUD rather than trusting a number from a third-party post. - Punch, collect, sell. Break wall cubes, pick up the rubble, and sell it at the crusher. Cash is what funds your early shop upgrades.
- Buy the cheap power first. Harder punches and larger holes speed up rubble generation more than anything else at the start, so prioritize them over cosmetics.
- Escape Chapter 1 once. A single successful breakout unlocks Chapter 2 — The Yard.
- Run the Yard objective. Dig up the buried crate and carry it to the gate, playing on Easy, Normal, or Hard.
- Train at THE GYM. This is the step that starts converting your playtime into Punch Out Of Prison permanent upgrades. Expect to experiment, because the stat list isn't published.
Co-op Bonuses and Codes That Shorten the Grind
The game supports teams of up to five players, and the wiki notes that a Roblox friend on the team adds a +10% Gem bonus. Gems don't buy punch power, but they do buy gloves, hit effects, classes, and emotes, so the bonus is free value for playing with people you already know.
For context on how busy the game is, GGRecon's November 2, 2026 report described nearly 12,000 people playing at any one time since the October launch — enough traffic that filling a five-player team shouldn't be hard. That same report confirms RELEASE as the only active code at the time of writing and notes the Halloween content (pumpkin gloves, a candy shop, spooky skins) ran until November 2, 2026, so don't expect those items to be earnable now.
Two more habits worth building early:
- Sell before you shop. Rubble in your backpack is not cash. Do a crusher run first, then spend.
- Use in-game redemption, not the Roblox site. The wiki is clear that codes go into the experience's own box, not roblox.com/redeem, and that a rejected code should be treated as expired.
What's Still Unconfirmed About Punch Out Of Prison Permanent Upgrades
Honesty matters more than a full-looking table here. As of the October 31, 2026 wiki verification and the November 1, 2026 code check from UrGameTips' Punch Out of Prison code roundup, the following details are not documented:
- The exact stat tracks available at THE GYM.
- Whether Gym training is paid for with cash, Gems, or a separate resource.
- The cost of any Gym tier.
- The exact Gem amount granted by
RELEASE.
While those gaps exist, the reliable strategy is to maximize the loop you can control: fast rubble farming, a Roblox friend on your team for the +10% Gem bonus, and at least one clean Chapter 1 escape so The Yard is available. For reference only, verify the Gym's live access and costs in-game because the official listing does not publish its access gate.
FAQ
Where do you get Punch Out Of Prison permanent upgrades? At THE GYM, the training system the game's listing describes as permanent progression. For reference only, the official listing does not state that a Chapter 1 escape is required to access it; Chapter 2 — The Yard — is the system explicitly gated by the first Chapter 1 escape.
Do Punch Out Of Prison permanent upgrades cost cash or Gems? That isn't documented yet. Crusher cash is confirmed for the core shop upgrades, and Gems are confirmed for gloves, hit effects, classes, and emotes. For reference only, the official listing does not state the Gym currency or a Chapter 1 access requirement, so check the in-game menu.
Are shop upgrades the same as Gym upgrades? No. THE GYM is explicitly described as permanent and is separate from the crusher-funded shop. For reference only, the official listing does not state whether shop purchases reset or persist between matches.
How fast can I reach the Gym? Faster than most players do. Redeem RELEASE for free Gems, focus your first cash on punch power and hole size to farm rubble quicker, team up with a friend for the +10% Gem bonus, and push one full Chapter 1 escape. That single escape opens The Yard; for reference only, the official listing does not state that it gates THE GYM or permanent upgrades.
Related Guides
Punch Out Of Prison Best Upgrades: What to Buy First
A source-grounded Punch Out Of Prison upgrade order covering harder punches, bigger holes, backpack capacity, helpers, Gems, and permanent Gym upgrades.
Punch Out Of Prison Bigger Backpack: How to Unlock and When to Buy It
A practical guide to the Punch Out Of Prison bigger backpack upgrade: how to earn cash at the crusher, what to buy first, and how it fits your escape.
Punch Out Of Prison Bigger Holes: What the Upgrade Does and How to Buy It
Punch Out Of Prison bigger holes explained: how the cash upgrade works, how to afford it, and how it compares to harder punches and backpack size.
Punch Out Of Prison Gym Guide: Permanent Upgrades and How Training Works
The Punch Out Of Prison gym is the game's permanent upgrade path. See what the official page confirms, how training fits the grind, and how to earn gems.